imgbox
Follow @ColonnadeLynn
The Colonnade Room
April 19, 2024, 06:52:09 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Welcome to SMF For Free

Home Help Arcade Gallery Links Staff List Login Register  

Meet Y&R's Sasha Calle (Article about Lola)

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Meet Y&R's Sasha Calle (Article about Lola)  (Read 18 times)
Lynn1
Administrator

« on: September 16, 2018, 08:39:01 pm »

From the September 17, 2018 issue of Soap Opera Digest (pp. 4-5):

Meet Y&R's Sasha Calle

Prior to being hired to play Y&R's Lola Rosales, newcomer Sasha Calle was trying hard not to be discouraged after losing out on several parts.  "I actually moved by myself when I was 18 to L.A. for college and I graduated with my BFA in Performing Arts," recounts the actress.  "We had a showcase when I graduated a year ago and I got my agents, and since graduation they were sending me out on auditions like crazy.  We would get so far and it was just, 'No, no, no, no.'  I would call my mom and say, 'It's okay, we've got this.  Don't give up on me.  Believe in me.'  But it was really rough because of so many 'no's'."

That changed when Calle tried out for Y&R, although it would take a while for her new role to come to fruition.  "I actually auditioned for Lola two months before and it was two months until they called me again," she shares.  "We did that one audition, and then two months later they called my agency and said, 'We want to test her.'  I was like, 'Oh, okay!  And they said, 'And we want you to read on Wednesday,' and I said, 'It's Monday,' and they said, 'Yes,' and I was like, 'Okay!' "